Where did the word jiffy come from?

According to Dictionary.com, the expression in a jiffy was in use as early as 1780. It is a colloquial English expression for “in a short amount of time.” The origins of jiffy are unknown. One suggestion is that it comes from British thieves' slang for “lightning,” hence very fast.