Why are they called tennis bracelets?

The Tennis Bracelet first came about after an incident at the 1987 U.S Tennis Championships with Chris Evert, a professional USA tennis player whose career was from 1972 to 1989. During a US Open match, she was wearing an in-line diamond bracelet while playing one of her matches and the clasp broke.