Who played uncle phil in fresh prince of bel-air?

James LaRue Avery was an American actor, voice actor, and poet. He was best known for his roles as Philip Banks in The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, Shredder in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Steve Yeager in The Brady Bunch Movie, and Haroud Hazi Bin in Aladdin.