What does a. m. m. p. n. mean?

The M in both A.M. and P.M. stands for the Latin word meridian, meaning middle, or noon. The "A" stands for ante, meaning before, and the "P" stands for post, meaning after. So A.M. means before noon, and P.M. means after noon