Why is it called motel six?

Two California contractors, William Becker and Paul Greene, saw a need for an economy motel on the California coast. They opened a 52-room motel in Santa Barbara, offering a good night's sleep for the low, low price of just $6 per night (cash only). Fittingly, they decided to name it Motel 6.