What does the key do in dead by daylight?

The dull and skeleton keys can open the hatch when it has spawned unopened. Addons can also be attached to the key to give it special aura-reading abilities, such as seeing the aura of your teammates or the killer. The broken key can also do this, except it cannot open the hatch.