What does a dove symbolize in death?

At a remembrance ceremony, a dove release helps to begin the grieving process. The letting go of the doves signifies the “letting go” of the loved one. A dove release is also inspirational for those attending a funeral or memorial as it beautifully and peacefully honors the memory of the deceased.