When was the first jet invented?

The Heinkel HE-178 was the world's first aircraft to fly under turbojet power, and the first practical jet aircraft. It was a venture by the German Heinkel company in accordance with director Ernst Heinkel's emphasis on developing technology for high-speed flight. It first flew on August 27th 1939.