What is white willow bark used for?

White willow bark contains salicin, which is a chemical similar to aspirin (acetylsalicylic acid). In combination with the herb's powerful anti-inflammatory compounds (called flavonoids), salicin is thought to be responsible for the pain-relieving and anti-inflammatory effects.