What is osteoarthritis?

Osteoarthritis is a degenerative joint disease caused by the breakdown of joint cartilage and bone. It causes joint pain, stiffness, and decreased range of motion. Any of the joints can be affected, like hips and neck, but typically the joints in the fingers are the worst.