What is the third state to become a state?

Approving the Constitution on December 18, 1787, New Jersey became the third state to join the Union, following Delaware and Pennsylvania. This diverse state has a long history. Prior to the American Revolution, New Jersey was part of the original land grant to the Duke of York.