What's charlie chan worth?

Charlie Chan was a fictional police detective created by Earl Derr Biggers, so it is difficult to calculate his net worth. In the late 1940s, a good salary for a police detective was $3,200. Adjusted for inflation, that would be a salary of about $36,700 today.