Why did hannibal cross the alps?

Hannibal crossed the Alps to bypass the Roman and allied land garrisons and Roman naval dominance. By doing this, Hannibal managed to lead his Carthaginian army over the Alps and into Italy to take the war directly to the Roman Republic.