Who played captain kangaroo?

Captain Kangaroo was portrayed by Bob Keeshan, who had previously played Clarabelle the Clown on the Howdy Doody Show.

---

The show was conceived and the title character, Captain Kangaroo, was played by Bob Keeshan, who based the show on "the warm relationship between grandparents and children".