What causes a jet stream?

It forms high in the upper troposphere between two air masses of very different temperature. The greater the temperature difference between the air masses, the faster the wind blows in the jet stream. This river of air has wind speeds which often exceed 100 mph, and sometimes peak over 200 mph.