What does bay leaf do?

Essentially, it adds another layer of flavor to a soup or stew, and the tea-like (oh-so-slightly menthol) aromas help lighten up a hearty dish, so it's less likely to bog you down after a big meal. If you're making homemade broth or stock, the bay leaf shines more.