What is the width of the milky way?

The milky way galaxy is between 150000, and 200000 light years across. Until 2015, astronomers thought it was only 100000 light years. The milky way has between 100-400 billion stars, and about 100 billion planets. These numbers are not exact because it is hard to measure these quantities exactly.