Where did the word honky tonk originate?

The origin of the term honky-tonk is unknown. ... The sound of honky-tonk (or honk-a-tonk) and the types of places that were called honky-tonks suggests that the term may be an onomatopoeic reference to the loud, boisterous music and noise heard at these establishments.