What is the thermal sensation?

The temperature indicated on thermometers is not always exactly what we feel in our body. The term thermal sensation is an index created to represent the temperature that a person actually feels in practice. What a human will actually experience depends on humidity, wind, and moisture in the air.

---

Thermal sensation orthermoesthesia, is the ability to distinguish differences of temperature. It is a standard parameter in most thermal experiments. It is uniformly defined in ISO 7730 [7] and ASHRAE standard 55 [8] with a scale ranging from −3 (cold) to +3 (hot).