Where do ions come from?

Ions are electrically charged particles, formed when an atom either loses an electron (becoming a positive ion), or gains an extra electron (becomeing a negative ion). This can result from chemical reactions, or from an energy source -- such as radiation -- strong enough to knock electrons around.