What's the origin of the word pocketbook?

Originally from the 1610s, a small book meant to be carried in one's pocket, from pocket + book. Meaning “a booklike leather folder for papers, bills, etc.” is from 1722. A pocket-book does not only refer to a woman's purse. In Great Expectations, Dickens referred to men using pocketbooks as well.