How do you know if a fig is ripe?

Ripe figs shouldn't feel hard, like an apple or unripe plum. They should give slightly to pressure, but they shouldn't be extremely soft or mushy. The best ripe figs are smooth and firm, holding their shape when sliced, but tender throughout and very sweet.