What is penny pudding?

In Christmas pudding, a silver sixpence was placed into the pudding mix and every member of the household would give a stir. Whoever found the sixpence in their own piece of the pudding on Christmas Day would see it as a sign that they would enjoy wealth and good luck in the year to come.