What is the origin of benjamin?

From the Hebrew name (Binyamin) meaning "son of the south" or "son of the right hand", from the roots (ben) meaning "son" and (yamin) meaning "right hand, south". Benjamin in the Old Testament was the twelfth and youngest son of Jacob and the founder of one of the southern tribes of the Hebrews.