What is x. y. chromosome?

The chromosomes that determine sex are the X and Y chromosomes. Males typically have one X and one Y chromosome. Females typically have two X chromosomes.

---

These are called sex chromosomes. Having an X. Y. chromosome usually corresponds to being male, but several other genetic factors can change this.