Why did south carolina succeed from the union?

The South Carolina Declaration of Secession, a proclamation issued on December 24, 1860, stated that the primary reason for South Carolina seceding from the U.S. was an "increasing hostility on the part of the non-slaveholding States to the Institution of Slavery."