What's the average lifespan of a small breed dog?

Some sources state the average life span of a small breed dog= 11 years. However, average isn't the same as the median (the true middle value of a set of numbers, often cited about 15 years old) . Many dogs live far less or more than the average, due to a lot of factors. Dogs can live 20-30 years.