Who is alan mcbeal?

Ally McBeal was a fictional lawyer in the TV series that ran from 1997-2002. It was known for its fantasy sequences that revealed the main characters inner thoughts. The series starred Calista Flockhart, Courtney Thorne-Smith, Portia de Rossi, Lucy Liu, and in season 4, Robert Downey Jr.