Why are some hard boiled eggs easier to peel than others?

If the membrane between the shell and the white of the egg dries out, then the egg will be difficult to peel. To prevent this, after boiling for 10 minutes, crack the eggshells on all the boiled eggs, and plunge into an ice-water bath to soak for an hour. After soaking, they will peel easily