Do sweet potatoes oxidize?

Yes. Air will cause a raw, peeled sweet potato to oxidize and turn brown.

---

Yes they can; however, that's only after you peel them and expose the potatoes to oxygen and not cook them right away. To prevent oxidization, place the sweet potatoes in a bowl of cold water to preserve the potatoes