What does short fall mean?

The word shortfall is used to depict an unsuccessful attempt at reaching a goal, objective or target.

---

A shortfall is an amount by which a financial obligation or liability exceeds the required amount of cash that is available. A shortfall can be temporary, arising out of a unique set of circumstances, or it can be persistent, in which case it may indicate poor financial management practices.