What's a beginner's guide to ordering oysters?

The fresher the oyster the better. In the US, oysters are sourced from the east or west coast or the Gulf. Location and type dictate flavor and size. Usually served opened and chilled accompanied by crackers, lemon, horseradish and cocktail sauce. Grilled or baked oysters are also great options.

---

Typically, raw oyster come in sets of dozen or half dozen. Traditionally they are served on ice with horseradish & cocktail sauce, as well as a lemon. Depending on your preference, you can use them or not, but for most first-timers, it is fun to try raw oysters without any of the dressings.