Who wrote kids better to have loved and lost than never to have loved it all?

No one wrote that, but you. However, Alfred Lord Tennyson wrote: "'Tis better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved at all", in his 1849 poem, "In Memoriam". The line is from the final verse of the poem.