Why is corn yellow and white?

Although corn that grows around the world today comes in a wide-ranging palette of colors including blue, orange, and purple, in the United States there are only two colors of corn: white, yellow. Yellow corn comes from the naturally occurring pigment beta carotene, which the white kernels lack.