How hard is it to find a needle in a haystack?

The phrase “like finding a needle in a haystack” is a similie — sometimes, the thing we're in search of is going to be so hard to find, it's functionally impossible to do so. One way would be to burn the hay and leave the needle. Another would be to use a magnet.