What is the broadway musical wicked?

'Wicked' is a live theatrical show based on the novel 'Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West' by Gregory Maquire. Both versions of 'Wicked' and the 1939 film 'The Wizard of Oz' are retellings of the classic 1900 novel, 'The Wonderful Wizard of Oz' by L. Frank Baum.