What is the movie sixteen candles about?

A girl's "sweet" 16th birthday becomes anything but special, as she suffers from every embarrassment possible. Samantha's life is going downhill fast. The 16 year old has a crush on the most popular boy in school, and the geekiest boy in school has a crush on her.