What type of rock is formed by heat and pressure?

Metamorphic rocks form from heat and pressure changing the original or parent rock into a completely new rock.

---

Metamorphic rocks form when rocks are subjected to high heat, high pressure, hot mineral-rich fluids or, more commonly, some combination of these factors.