What's the definition of extension ism?

Ethical extensionism is an argument in environmental ethics that moral standing ought to be extended to things that traditionally are not thought of as having moral standing. For example, while many cultures differ as to what, exactly, is "murder", all cultures take it as wrong to commit murder.