How far is the clouds from earth?

Almost all clouds form in the Troposphere which extends from the ground to about 56,000 ft. - Low clouds like cumulus can form anywhere from near the ground up to 6,500 ft. - Fog is a cloud of small water droplets that is near ground level and sufficiently dense to reduce horizontal visibility.