Who is jack ripper?

Jack the Ripper was the name given to a killer of mainly young prostitues from the Whitechapel area of London. The unsolved murders took place between 1888 and1891. The term Jack the Ripper became popular through the Press of the day, alluding to the violent way the victims were killed.