Can you substitute sour cream for ricotta cheese?

Ricotta cheese is used in dishes like lasagna to provide a taste and to maintain moisture during baking. Replacing the ricotta cheese with sour cream will drastically change the taste and texture of lasagna. In most cases you cannot make the substitution.