What's a deterrent for groundhogs?

One method is ammonia. You can simply pour it down the holes when you find them. Repeat after a week. Fill in the holes with large heavy rocks. The other is USED cat litter. Pour it into their holes, sprinkle it around the edges of your yard. Keep at it. It will take more than one try.