How deep do you plant sweet corn?

Once the soil temperatures reach 65°F or higher, it is crucial to sow the seeds at a greater depth than if you planted in the spring. Ideal depth for summer planting is about 1.5 inches, which is warm enough to allow the corn seeds to germinate but not so warm as to kill the seed before it sprouts.