What is a steam plant?

A steam power plant consists of a boiler, steam turbine & generator, and other auxiliaries. The boiler generates steam at high pressure & high temperatures. The steam turbine converts the heat energy of steam into mechanical energy. The generator converts the mechanical energy into electric power.