Is salmonella deadly?

Salmonella, the bacteria most frequently causing food-related illness in the US, can cause upset stomach, diarrhea, fever, and belly pain and cramping. It is not usually life-threatening, but in people with weakened immune systems, development of complications can sometimes be dangerous.