Where did the term red handed come from?

The term originates from Scotland. An earlier form of 'red-handed', simply 'red hand', dates back to a usage in the Scottish Acts of Parliament of James I, 1432. It is a straightforward allusion to having blood on one's hands after the execution of a murder or a poaching session.