Did anyone ever escape alcatraz?

Officials that run Alcatraz prison claimed that they never allowed anyone to escape, but there are stories of three men — brothers John and Clarence Anglin and fellow inmate Frank Morris and their survival after escape. Officials at Alcatraz claimed they all 3 drowned.