Did anyone ever escape alcatraz?

Officials that run Alcatraz prison claimed that they never allowed anyone to escape, but there are stories of three men — brothers John and Clarence Anglin and fellow inmate Frank Morris and their survival after escape. Officials at Alcatraz claimed they all 3 drowned.

---

Of the 36 inmates who staged 14 escape attempts over the 29 years that Alcatraz served as a federal penitentiary, 23 were recaptured, 6 were shot and killed, 2 drowned, and 5 are listed as "missing and presumed dead".