Why do you have hair on your body?

Hair is important for maintaining skin health, as each hair follicle has blood vessels, nerves, and fat around it. Hair follicles are rich in stem cells that promote healing of the skin — helpful if you have a cut or wound. Hair also keeps a person warm and protects the skin from sun damage.