How did neil armstrong help our country?

Neil Armstrong raised the expectations, the hopes and dreams, of every human on Earth. Thanks to him, we all believe that humans can achieve great things, that we can learn about our place among the stars, that we can all reach up and out, that we can fly, and change the world.